Crustless Green Chile & Spinach Quiche

If I’m honest, I have to admit I don’t eat breakfast most mornings. I prefer a big cup of coffee with a heavy splash of milk. Sometimes I make green smoothies for a mid morning meal. On the rare day I wake up hungry, I crave pancakes or a scone with jam. Aurelia, however, wakes up craving eggs, nearly every morning. It takes me less than three minutes to make an egg in a dot of butter and she always eats it like it’s the first and best thing she’s ever had. I try to lean our diet toward protein and vegetables, though I’m generally more persuaded by whatever homemade creative dish I can imagine with what is in season and stocked in the kitchen. And I would die without pie. Die.

So when Aurelia woke me up with “Mama! Egg!” at 6:38 this Saturday morning, I had the idea to whip up a quiche and eat with her. The matter of making a crust and letting it chill properly was not going to fit in Aurelia’s tummy’s timeframe, thus I present, Crustless Quiche. It really could be called a frittata, but I baked it entirely in the oven, in a pie pan, whereas I would start a frittata in a frying pan on the stove and just finish under the broiler. But feel free to call it frittata it if you like.

I like this recipe because it relies more on cottage cheese than the cheddar and the flavor of the chile really comes through without being overwhelming. I preheated the oven while I made my coffee, mixed the ingredients together quickly, and just had enough time to get out of my bathrobe and dress Aurelia before we sat down. Very doable for a weekend morning and hungry toddler approved. Most importantly, the quiche was insanely delicious. Oh, heaven.

Crustless Green Chile & Spinach Quiche
adapted from Allrecipes

Ingredients:
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
6 eggs
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup cottage cheese
1/2 bunch spinach (about 2 cups)
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chilies, drained
1/4 cup butter

Instruction:
Preheat an oven to 400 degrees F. Butter a pie pan and set aside. In a skillet, melt the butter over medium heat and add the spinach. Saute until spinach is just wilted and remove from heat.

Beat the eggs in a mixing bowl until smooth. Whisk in the baking powder, salt, cayenne, and flour until no lumps remain. Stir in the cheddar cheese, cottage cheese, green chiles, and reserved spinach until evenly blended. Pour mixture into prepared pie dish.

Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes at 400 degrees F, then reduce the temperature to 350 degrees F. Continue baking until the quiche is lightly browned and a knife inserted into the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes.

Serve with sour cream and pico de gallo or salsa and eat immediately. Cold eggs are a tragedy.

Leave a Reply

