Chicken Coop

I really prefer farm animals of the four legged kind and can’t wait for my first cow, but chickens will be my first animals on Good Life Farm for the practical reason of needing eggs and the basic reciprocal relationship chickens have to the land and benefit of the farm as a whole. Keeping chickens seems to be on a trend lately for backyard or urban homesteaders, and while I think it’s awesome that people are able to bravely raise chickens in a variety of spaces, I am far more wary of the mess and work involved with the species. When I think of keeping poultry of any kind, I see stinky, dark, enclosed coops and cranky, aggressive chickens. That possibility makes me shudder. My solution is to have a brilliant coop that is bright, airy, and easy to clean.

I found a great article on “How to Build the Ultimate Chicken Coop” in Country Living and am buying the plans to this dreamy coop. I’m thinking that with the house scraps, extra shingles, and a few things from the local hardware store, I should be able to have this done and ready for my first chicken order next spring without spending the $1600 the folks in the article did. I don’t expect it to look quite as chic, but we’re not precious farming here. It’s the organization, protection, and accessibility that appeal to me most.

Great idea, don’t you think? We’ll see how it goes.

For more information on why you should try to source local farm eggs, read this excellent post by Kate at one of my favorite blogs, longest acres. A link to the longest acres homepage is on my Blogroll in the sidebar. If you have a favorite blog, send me the address and I’d love to check it out and hopefully add it to the growing Blogroll too.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Coop

  1. The local chicken coop consultant lives in my neighborhood in Asheville. I am not joking re: the word “consultant”. You know I like to call people what they want to be called.

  2. A friend is getting ready to start with chickens, and I want a new coop that is more functional, and we’re both looking at this design. I also think it could be made for way cheaper than the article. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

Leave a Reply

