Oatmeal & Breakfast

I know, I know… my food has been lazy lately. I’ve been resorting to one bowl dinners and am now making a big deal about oatmeal. But here’s my justification. This is real food. It’s fresh, economical, homemade, quick, and easy. Don’t we need more of that through the work week? Too often we say we don’t have the time to cook, eat together, or make anything from scratch. I’m just letting this low notch kitchen week serve as a reminder that it doesn’t have to be elaborate or inordinate to be good family food. This week my menu has been asking the least of me and I think it’s good to share those times too.

Anyway… oatmeal. I’ve mentioned before that Aurelia almost always eats an egg for breakfast. While we don’t have the most adventurous diet, I do try to give her a variety and do a pretty good job from noon on. Her lunch, snacks, and dinner cover a spectrum of flavors and textures. As for breakfast, doing anything but scrambling that egg is too much a stretch for her nearly-2 year old morning brain.

But she does love strawberries. And who doesn’t? So I spent a few minutes making oatmeal for us both this morning and tried to convince her to try something new with the jubilee of red berries.

For two small servings of oatmeal, try it like this. In a saucepan, put 3/4 cup old fashioned oats, 3/4 cup milk, and half a cup of water.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to keep the bubbles low, and stir occasionally for 5-10 minutes, depending on how soft you like your oats. I like mine with a bit more bite, but I cooked these for 10 minutes to get a very soft texture for the little one. Remove from heat once the oats are to your liking, divide into bowls, top with a bit of milk and chopped strawberries. I put a little drizzle of maple syrup over Aurelia’s too to help with the convincing.

She was indeed delighted by the berries for breakfast and I was glad to have filled my tummy with something other than coffee. However, A did not actually eat any oats. She carefully and precisely picked out every strawberry piece and left the rest as superfluous garnish. Ah, well. We’ll try again. They were delicious and more to my nearly-30 morning brain than a repetitive egg.

Leave a Reply

