New Work, New Hours, New Life

This is the first week of my new job. Not commuting nearly three hours of the day, in addition to cutting my office time in half, has been a huge adjustment, in the very best way. Only two days in and I have a sense of peace, productivity, and rightness that I think I’ve been missing for some time.

I absolutely love my work at the food bank! I’m the outreach coordinator and the projects I have to start are thrilling, creative, and will connect me with such incredible people. I know I will be very busy in this role, but it feels like the right challenge for my skills and the perfect fit for my desire to make a difference collaborating in my community.

Aurelia started at a new school and will be there the three days a week I am in the office. It’s wonderful how well she adapts to new environments, though she is my serious darling and takes her time soaking in newness before drawing conclusions. So far, she loves her teacher and is warming up to the other kids and adults. I am grateful to have found another childcare with such respect and gentle regard for little ones. My parenting at home is going to have to adapt some because I’m used to only having Aurelia early mornings, after school each evening, and on weekends. This made our time together tightly packed and as fun and relaxing as possible. Now that I have so much time with her during the day, I need to try to create a routine the will allow for both of us to relax and play, but also clean, cook, work on the house, read, and garden. I need time to work at home and she needs a regular nap. Just the balance of these needs requires considerable planning and flexibility. I’ve long envied stay at home moms and now I have the chance to try to make it work at least part of the time. I honestly feel like I have the best of both worlds right now. Can you feel how happy I am?! Ah, the glow of the first week.

Here are some pictures from our time the last couple days.


at the local park.


baked potatoes, roasted elephant garlic, cheese, sour cream, bacon.


loaded baked potato, thyme marinated grilled steak, smashed garlic on country bread, broccoli salad. (dinner with family at grandpa’s birthday party.)


planting pumpkin starts in the garden.


baked potato soup – I pureed Aurelia’s portion in the blender per her preference. recipe below.

Leftover Baked Potato Soup
Adapted from Alton Brown

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons butter
1 medium onion, chopped
6 cloves garlic, chopped
4 cups chicken stock
4 large leftover baked potatoes, peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch cubes
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup sour cream
2 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Instructions:
In a large pot over medium heat, melt the butter and add the onion and garlic. Cook until they are translucent. Add the stock and stir to combine. Once the soup is back to a simmer, add potatoes, buttermilk, and sour cream. Add this mixture to the soup stirring constantly. Optional: Use a potato masher to lightly break up the potato pieces in the soup for a thicker, less brothy soup. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from the heat, ladle into bowls. I ate up a bowl and a half as is and wasn’t missing a thing, but it would be lovely with chives or cheese on top too, I’m sure.

 

2 thoughts on “New Work, New Hours, New Life

  1. Oh, how I love baked potato soup. It’s so satisfying to the core.

    As a work-at-home mom I can say that it all just sort of happens. You find your groove, your natural routines, and it starts to make sense. It takes time, and I’m still trying to fit in the quieter adult times, but it happens. Enjoy the transition into this lovely new pace of life.

  2. It was nice to see you in town. I have to apologize for my hesitation in saying hello, I was in full on flower planting mode in my head, and it took me a minute to come back to reality 🙂

Leave a Reply

