sweets for the sugar-free

I am not a fan of artificial sugar and do my best to cut back on my real sugar intake as is. But there are people like my dear grandfather who can’t have anything else. And who am I to keep one of my favorite men from cake on his 90th birthday? I’d do no such thing. Cheesecake is naturally less sweet and requires less flour than my usual cakes. I adore cheesecake and was nervous about the flavor with Splenda, but I must say, this recipe turned out quite well. I especially like the sour lightness the greek yogurt gave, as opposed to using more cream cheese. You could make this with real sugar, of course. I’m certainly going to try.

I usually wrap the base of the springform pan in foil and set it in a pan of water. But I’d read of a trick to simply put the pan of water on the shelf under the cake, without wrapping the pan, and I had to try it for the sake of simplicity. The cake still split vehemently on top, but was as moist as any cheesecake I’ve made. If you don’t care about the risk of splitting and want to save the foil, it’s a quick compromise.

Sugar Subbed Cheesecake
adapted from Instructables

Crust:
4 tablespoons (half stick) butter
2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Filling:
16 oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup Splenda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 eggs
2 cups greek yogurt

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375*

For the crust: In a small bowl combine Splenda, butter, and graham cracker crumbs. Use a fork or your fingers to mix ingredients together and sprinkle evenly over the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan and press the crumbs down lightly. Place into pre-heated oven for 10 minutes.

For the filling: In a medium bowl (or mixer bowl) put cream cheese, Splenda, and vanilla. Beat until it’s fluffy and free of lumps. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing until they just combine, add sour cream and mix until smooth.

Pour the batter into the springform pan with the prepared crust, place in pre-heated oven for 30-35 minutes. Refrigerate overnite before serving.

Leave a Reply

