Easy Peasy Pita Pizza

My recent post on Personal Pan Nachos gave me the idea to try another simple, build your own dinner. This time, we made a little spread of ingredients and made pizzas on pita bread! I do love homemade pizza dough and tomato sauce, but the dough is what keeps me from making pizzas usually on weekday evenings and I’m out of homemade tomato sauce for the year. I can’t wait for summer to bring more tomatoes and will definitely can a lot of sauce for the next year.

So, I cheated. I used pita bread and boring store bought sauce. I opened a bag of shredded cheese, chopped a couple cloves of garlic, a big handful of olives, a pineapple, steamed a few cups of spinach, and we called it dinner. We helped each other make our pizzas, put them on a baking sheet, and baked for 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

Here’s the thing … it was really, really good! The pita was so soft, yet strong enough to hold up all my toppings. It was filling, but still healthy. I loved the garlic and spinach especially. Contrasted with the sweet sauce and pineapple, it was a gorgeous sensation of flavors and textures. We ate the pizza with the most divine roasted cauliflower. I’ll be sure to post that next.

Next time you’re at the store, grab a bag of good pita bread and make sure your pantry is stocked with sauce. As long as you have cheese and any variety of toppings you crave, dinner can be on the table in 20 minutes. Also,  I’ve found that when Aurelia helps make her own food, she’s more excited – and therefore, inclined – to eat it. I love her little hungry hands and I’m in no rush to be done in the kitchen and back to her when she’s there with me the whole time.

Leave a Reply

