Green Smoothies

I often make green smoothies in the morning and about one day each week, I have a quart of smoothie for breakfast and a quart for lunch instead of regular meals. It fills me up, gives me important micronutrients and calories I need to keep going. Plus, it helps keep my appetite and weight in check when I need a reset. I seem to go in phases when I crave them all the time and then won’t make one for a whole week. I figure my body knows when I need the cleanse.

Filling up my Vitamix makes 2 quarts and a 6 oz serving, perfect for a toddler. If she’s not up for it right away, it makes wonderful freezer pops too. Get on the green smoothie train if you haven’t already. The difference a good dose of chlorophyll will do for your day is incredible.

Today’s recipe: 4 cups spinach, 1/2 pineapple, 2 cups water, 2 frozen bananas, handful strawberries.

5 thoughts on “Green Smoothies

  1. mmm, looks delicious. I don’t have a blender. But now that I’m working on this healthy living I have all sorts of gadgets in which I need to invest. Would love (when you have a moment) to see a post about your kitchen must haves/favourites.

  2. The Handsome Gardener bought the HUGE bag of spinach at Costco, we’ve been super packing the blender 3/4 full of spinach before the fruit this week in a race to finish the spinach before it goes. He loves telling people about the smoothies we have almost daily. Thanks for getting us started!

  3. I am like you, and I too, love how my toddler will drink my/his veggies if I just put a banana and some honey in there too! most kale is pretty tasteless too so I usually put some of that in as well.

  4. I like the nuttiness of chard, especially with peaches and some almond milk and a touch of honey and cinnamon. My boy and I can’t get enough of this.

Leave a Reply

