Week’s End

It was high time Aurelia and I had a whole day together after the week we’ve had mostly apart. We slept in (Glory, Hallelujah) and had a slow breakfast. Aurelia had her egg and I blended fresh strawberries, cinnamon, and yogurt to eat over oatmeal. Old fashioned oats keep me full for half a day. The strawberries tasted like springtime. Besides, I’m still glowing from my time with the mister yesterday. Really, what a brilliant start to the day. We spent the afternoon at our house, under construction. Aurelia danced on top of nearby hay bails and moved dirt around with her sand shovel and bucket. Tonight, turkey lettuce wraps and raspberry pie. (Wish my butter crust luck.)

Two uncles, two cousins, an aunt, and my parents worked on my house most of the day, putting siding up. This is the third weekend in a row we’ve been doing the siding work. We chose James Hardie fiber cement siding and trim. It will all be painted, so disregard the color. It has a 50 year guarantee and really looks classic, while being far more durable than wood or vinyl. I couldn’t be happier with the way it looks. The time and energy my family is putting in to my home is overwhelming and makes me teary with humility and gratitude. I am so loved by these incredible, hard working people and having a home near them makes me feel part of a lineage I am so proud of. To have the hands that have known me since I was born creating the home that my daughter will grow in, is such a rare and special gift. I’m doing a crummy job explaining it, but I think you can imagine. The end result still seems far away, but I’m finding the best things are worth the work and wait.

One thought on “Week’s End

  1. Oh, I do know what you mean. What they are pouring into making this house of yours, is already making it a *home*. How wonderful to have family like that. I can’t wait to see what you do with it, and all the memories you make in it.

Leave a Reply

