Roasting Vegetables

Once a week I’m buying whatever lovely looking, fresh produce is available locally to eat for the whole week. I wash it all up in a big sink full of water, then dry, cut, and arrange it on baking sheets. Topped with a bit of olive oil, and foil in some cases when they need to steam, into the oven they go. I roast at 425 on convection for 45 minutes to an hour, depending on the size and strength of the vegetables.

Once out of the oven, I season them lightly with salt, vinegar, or more oil. The vegetables are stored in mason jars and sit in the fridge to be eaten whenever the meal or craving calls for them. I like them right out of the jar, on top of a plain green salad, and especially along side meat and grains. Vegetables have such a way of brightening up a meal, don’t they?

Other ways I’m prepping vegetables for the week is by boiling (see broccoli) or pickling (see green beans). All excellent options that make the weekday dinner rush that much easier. Aurelia seems to like prepared vegetables more than raw ones. So, win win.

 

5 thoughts on “Roasting Vegetables

  1. Yum! Roozle likes raw veggies better than cooked (just as I did as a kid) so we set some aside for her when we’re cooking.

    Do you have a microwave? How do you rehear them for the meals?

  2. One of the best things we’ve done is when Trav started going to the farmers market by his work every Tuesday to pick up a big bag of fruits and veggies. Whatever looks good! Its so wonderful to have a big bowl of fresh fruit when we want something sweet, and some fun veggies to cook up.

  3. Thanks, ladies! As for reheating, I just don’t. The only thing my microwave is good for is softening butter at the last minute.. I know many people would want roasted veg hot, but it really is lovely and sweet cold or at room temperature. It keeps longer, too. My “green salads” are really just lettuce or spring greens. I keep them in the salad spinner once dry and then just put the roasted veg on the table with the greens and top with olive oil and balsamic. Just an easy way to get a lot of veg!

  4. I love this idea! I’d never thought about doing it beforehand, or eating them cold. I love roasted veggies, but don’t always have time to wait for the roasting between getting home from the office and putting dinner together. We’ll be trying this very shortly!

  5. Pingback: Deconstructed Beef Enchiladas with Roasted Tomatillo Chile Sauce | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

