Refrigerator Challenge: Crustless Quiche

I’m rather impressed with how closely I’ve stuck to the menu plan for this month. Except for a couple dinner dates and a night where we had goat cheese, bread, and strawberries and called it good, I’ve cooked according to plan and thus, according to my pantry.

Tonight was slightly off-course, but I believe for the better. The menu called for leek and pea carbonara and while I do love a quick pasta with eggs and bacon, I felt like I had too many little bowls of leftovers in the fridge to make what would be a big bowl of more leftovers tomorrow.

Between Aurelia’s birthday, my brother and his family visiting, and the vegetable roasting I’ve been doing, there were several odds and ends that were sure to be discarded if neglected much longer.

I pulled out the bowls and bags and jars to deal with: a half cup of packed slow roasted tomatoes, a portion of ground turkey and caramelized onions, a thumb’s width of grilled asparagus, a whole leek, a carton of cream with a couple tablespoons left, the remains of a condiment bowl of pico de gallo, a cup of crumbled cotija cheese, a scant half cup of a pesto, goat cheese, cream cheese mixture I’d made crostini with, and 8 eggs.

The leek was the basis for the carbonara I’d planned, so I diced, washed, and sauteed that first in some olive oil. In a mixing bowl with the whisk attachment, I combined the eggs, cream, and cheeses. I put in the tiny bit of pico de gallo, half teaspoons of cumin, coriander, and garlic powder, a quarter teaspoon of cayenne, and 2 teaspoons of kosher salt while it whisked away.

In a deep, buttered pie pan, I layered the roasted tomatoes, turkey/onion mixture, and chopped asparagus. Once the leeks were getting some color, I put them on top of that. The egg and cheese mixture was poured on top and the whole thing baked for 50 minutes at 350 degrees until done.

Topped with parsley, sour cream, and lime juice, a quarter pie served as a one plate, low carb, fridge clearing, pantry challenge approved dinner. This was impossibly good, filling, healthy, and resourceful. I can’t help but pat myself on the back and make a post out of it.

Keep local, free range eggs on hand. They’re wonderful for you, cheap, keep for a while, and can turn nearly any other protein, vegetable, or grain into a rounded meal.

Leave a Reply

