Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins

Ok, folks. My crazy work week is finished, I am finally home and able to cook again! The pantry challenge was more of a list of suggestions for my mom, who fed Aurelia all week while I was gone. Now that I’m back, I am craving fresh, homemade food, and not much from the pantry. I stopped at Costco on my way home and for $100, got an incredible amount of vegetables, wild canned salmon, and organic meat for the rest of the month. I may go back to the menu this week, but I’m going to make my menu for next month more fresh.

Last night, I prepped a ton of vegetables and roasted cauliflower, carrots, and sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes were pulled out of their skins and mashed once cooled, to keep as an easy side dish or base to meat and veg later in the week. They also came in handy this morning when I just couldn’t get myself to eat eggs again for breakfast. I’m trying to get to the place where my sweets and baked treats are special, instead of everyday snacks. These muffins aren’t clean eating, exactly, but for a special reunion to the kitchen and a slow weekend morning with my darling girl, they hit the spot and are plenty sweet, even with my creative flours and scant sugar. I can’t believe how amazing they taste! Trust me. Make up a batch, eat a few with some tea and someone you love, and appreciate the occasion.

Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup pureed sweet potato (about one sweet potato, roasted, peeled, and mashed well)
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup finely ground almonds
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 cup butter, melted
3 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup raisins
1 cup plain yogurt

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350 and put 18 liners into muffin pans. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, ground almonds, baking soda, salt, and spices. In a separate bowl, mix the butter, eggs, vanilla, brown sugar, yogurt, and pureed sweet potato, just until all ingredients are moistened. Fold in raisins. Don’t overmix! Scoop batter evenly into prepared muffin cups. Bake muffins for 15-18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in one comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins

  1. Pingback: Morning Glory Muffins – No Sugar (or Fake Sugar!) Added | Good Life Farm

  2. Pingback: Recipe Revisited: Sweet Potato Craisin Muffins | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

