Morning Glory Muffins – No Sugar (or Fake Sugar!) Added

I was missing muffins. After cutting down on my sugar intake significantly and going without grains since… well, my last muffin recipe, I thought I’d make a compromise and come up with a muffin with lots of flavor, texture, and fiber, WITHOUT adding sugar.

To be completely honest, I craved the missing sugar in the first muffin. But after I got over the taste memory of my previous morning glory muffins, I loved them. In fact, without the super-taste of sugar preceeding everything, I experienced the complexities of the banana, raisins, carrots, and apple all the more.

As an aside, I felt a little sensitive to the grains after being off them for the week and a half (shoot!), but I took a Claritin and had another the next day and felt fine. I realize the more focused my eating gets, the more reaction I’ll have to treats, but I’m not willing to jump in to full elimination mode just yet. Grains and dairy are still an issue of balance and self-justification still reigns my kitchen.

These muffins make great breakfast partners after some eggs, a green smoothie, or protein shake. (New tip: If you’re going to eat carbs, do so with/after protein.) They also travel and keep well, so I had one after the gym and another two on this weekend’s road trip to McCall.

Aurelia loved these and after she couldn’t eat any more, she opened another just to pick out all the raisins. Toddler approved.

Morning Glory Muffins
Adapted from Allrecipes

Ingredients:
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 Tbs ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups grated carrots
1 apple – peeled, cored, and grated
1 banana, mashed
1 cup raisins
3 eggs
1/2 cup fruit puree or apple sauce (I used pureed canned apricots)
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 c dry quinoa
1/2 c oat bran

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly oil 12 jumbo muffin cups and or use paper liners. In a food processor with the grating attachment, grate the carrots and apple. Transfer to a bowl and set aside. Back in the food processor with the regular mixing attachment, blend the banana, eggs, fruit puree, coconut oil and vanilla. In a large bowl, stir together flour, quinoa, oat bran, spices, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add in the in carrots, apples and raisins. Stir in wet mixture from the food pro until just moistened. The batter will be very thick. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling them quite full. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the tops are golden and spring back when lightly pressed.

A glimpse at my recipe altering notes:

2 thoughts on “Morning Glory Muffins – No Sugar (or Fake Sugar!) Added

  1. I hate bananas, can’t help it. I love 98% of foods but I just can’t do bananas. Do you think applesauce or just another cup of puréed fruit would work?

  2. Totally. Or use another egg. It’s just another binder/sweetener. Another 1/2 cup applesauce would compensate I’m sure, 1 cup would be too much.

Leave a Reply

