Moroccan Chicken Salad

I’m proud of this salad! There must be a hundred yogurt chicken salad recipes out there, but this is my version, lightened even more, loaded with vegetables, and bursting with gusto. I felt guilty for a split minute for buying a pre-roasted chicken after work instead of making my own, but when I walked into the house and it didn’t feel much cooler than the 101 degrees outside, I was without remorse about the short cut ingredient to this insanely yummy salad.

I hope you have a food processor. It’s my Most Valued Small Appliance, even above my Vita Mix and hot rollers. I used it to slice the carrots, celery, and olives. Then, with the mixing attachment, I made the creamy dressing. It took 15 minutes to pull everything together, including taking apart the chicken. I made a mess of only one bowl, plus the food pro. Served on a bed of spinach, this was my favorite meal in ages. I’m on a curry kick, admittedly, but the flavor here is mild and not overpowering with so much else going on. I tweaked and tasted and tasted and seasoned. I’m sticking by this recipe exactly as is and am making sure to keep it handy the next time I cheat and buy a roast chicken and need a healthy, quick, no-cook meal.

Moroccan Chicken Salad

Ingredients:
1 whole cooked chicken, skin and bones removed, and meat chopped in 1/2″ dice
4 stalks celery, finely sliced
2 carrots, finely sliced
1/2 cup kalamata olives, drained, rinsed and sliced
1 cup raisins
2 cups non-fat greek yogurt
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 Tbs minced ginger
1 Tbs yellow curry
1/4 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp salt

Instructions:
Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl. In a food processor or blender, combine the greek yogurt, lemon juice, ginger, spices, and salt. Blend until smooth. Top the chicken and vegetables with the dressing and mix very well. Serve over greens as a salad or in individual romaine or butter lettuce leaves for a wrap.

BONUS!!
The nutritional profile on this is so amazing, I put it all in to FitDay and divided the results by 8, the number of servings this recipe will feed me and family. It’s approximate, as I didn’t weigh and measure every bit, but close enough.

Per serving, this salad boasts: 324 calories, 13 grams fat, 21 grams carbs, 29 grams protein. Hard to beat that!

3 thoughts on “Moroccan Chicken Salad

  1. I actually had all the ingredients for this in my fridge/pantry except for (believe it or not) raisins. I used dried mixed berries instead. What a YUMMY dish. Lovely variation on the old standard. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Even though your pictures of Moroccan Chicken Salad are exact, I didn’t think they proved how simply excellent this meal was!! Possibly one of my favorite recipes from your Blog so far!

Leave a Reply

