Workout – Legs & Abs

I am going to start posting some workouts I write and test if they feel successful. Success in a workout plan for me means it has to be done within an hour, I have to be able to complete the full workout, but still work to exhaustion. It needs to be cardiovascular and strength. I need to be sore the next day, but not unable to put my shoes on. I want to challenge myself, while working out safely and keeping it reasonable so I will keep doing it everyday. My best friend B, of Fitter Fatty fame, is an epic runner. She is motivating me to run more often, and I’m balancing that with strength workouts that I am addicted to because I love feeling strong. ❤

If you are curious about the weight part of your gym, but too shy/uneasy/unfamiliar to use it, try watching some videos on Muscle & Strength (no teasing!) on how to do particular exercises. Try going to the gym in the middle of the afternoon when it won’t be so busy, write out your workout plan (like the one I’m detailing below), and just walk in there and own it. If you have a friend who will go with you, even better. And when you need help, ask for it. Have a spotter when you’re doing a new lift or going for a PR. Strangers are nice in gyms. Smile.

I consider myself in normal, healthy fitness range. I’m not just starting out, but I have a lot to learn. I’m not looking to lose (more than a few) pounds, but would like to get a lot stronger. I figure this makes it reasonable to share workouts, because a beginner could do them with less reps, less weight, and a more advanced person could add weight.

If this is totally ridiculous, do tell. I want to keep myself accountable and remember the ‘routines’ that work for me. If it’s annoying and you think there is a better approach to talking about fitness, I want to know!

Monday, June 16 Workout
(The weight in parenthesis is where I’m at. Be sure to determine your own weight before you start the reps.)

Legs and Abs – 1 hour

  • Leg curls 10 x 10 (40 lbs)
  • Leg extend 3 x 20 (70 lbs)
  • Leg press 4 x 15 (140 – added 90, press is 50 lbs)
  • Bench barbell squat 3 x 20 (45 lb olympic bar, no weight added)
  • Dumbbell step up 3 x 10 (2 – 10 lb weights)
  • Plank – 1 minute
  • Lying floor leg raise – 20
  • Exercise ball sit-ups – 20
  • Bicycle crunches – 20
  • Repeat all four ab exercises in a row 3 times
Leave a Reply

