Dinner in Ten – Salmon burger, zucchini, and banana ice cream.

It was one of those days. I got 5 hours of sleep, worked a big, full day, hit the gym, picked up Aurelia, and had an hour at home before I had to be at another work function. I had a protein shake directly after my workout, but was absolutely famished by the time I got home. What to do? I needed to eat, feed the also hungry and hot toddler, and still have time to get all fancy to boot. I just wanted to rest and eat slowly. This is one of the sort of times I feel my single parenthood strongly. But we survived! And ate well!

I really did get dinner on the table in 10 minutes. And take pictures of it to share. I think we all need emergency meals. Pre-made salmon burgers came to the rescue tonight. I’m planning on making some turkey ones this week, with just some egg and spices, to freeze too. It’s great to have something that can go directly from freezer to cook, in single servings, protein packed for these nights when it’s awfully tempting to drive through somewhere or get a pizza. Real food to the rescue.

First up: preheat a cast iron griddle over medium heat. Next, I sliced up a zucchini and tossed it with some coconut oil and garam masala in a skillet over medium heat and put the lid on. Then, I put the frozen salmon patties on the griddle and put the timer on for 4 minutes. Into the blender I put 2 cut up frozen bananas, a quarter cup (ish) of full fat plain yogurt and a shake of cinnamon. Blended until it was suddenly ice cream. Stir zucchini. Flip salmon patties. Reset timer for 3 minutes. Into a small bowl, I put another quarter cup (again, ish) of the plain yogurt and mixed it with a teaspoon of lemon juice, a pinch of salt and a grind of pepper. The banana ice cream went into bowls and it was time to plate the salmon and zucchini. Topped the salmon with the yogurt sauce and down we sat to eat.

Aurelia made a bit of a yogurt mess and just piled her zucchini into a tower, but she did eat her salmon (1/3 patty) and a good bit of yogurt. That’s a win. I ate everything and was a little delighted at how yummy it was, despite my rushed and grumpy mood. Quick dress change, hair in a bun, and I made it to my work reception in time. Another win.

Leave a Reply

