Turkey & Quinoa Meatloaf

Meatloaf does not photograph well. It is not the prettiest meal. So here you have a picture of Hercule Poirot. One of my great pleasures is mystery television. I watched the entire Murder She Wrote series while I was pregnant and it’s taken me the two years since to watch the series of Monk. I just finished the last episode today and panicked as I went to find another Netflix Instant option that would fill the void. Luck of all, a ton of episodes of Poirot were added. I’ve seen most of the Poirot series made with David Suchet (at least 50, I’m sure), but they are such good, cozy mysteries, I really don’t mind re-watching them.  So there you have it. I don’t watch any tv shows on tv. I’m terribly behind on current music. But I am well versed in anything that has had a good run on Masterpiece Mystery. Inspector Lewis, Inspector Lynley, Miss Marple, Mrs. Bradley. I do feel better having confessed. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, do watch a Poirot episode while they’re on the Netflix Instant. Such a treat.

As for dinner tonight, this was just amazing. It did not make it to the table quickly, but most of the time is just waiting the hour for it to bake. I ran about 5 miles with my mom alongside on a bike while we waited for our dinner. It really was the best thing I could possibly imagine when I got back, sweaty and tired and starving. Really, really good. And don’t miss the nutritional profile at the end. I am so crazy about ground turkey right now. It’s so lean, never dry,  and takes on spices very well. The quinoa is a perfect combination. For anyone that has trouble with grain, quinoa is a great alternative because it is a seed. It’s fairly inexpensive, even organic, keeps in your pantry for ages, and cooks in no time. Have some on hand and give bread a rest. I actually think this is better than any traditional beef and breadcrumb meatloaf I’ve had. Next time though, I’m going to wrap it in bacon.

Turkey & Quinoa Meatloaf
Adapted from Allrecipes

Ingredients:
1/4 cup quinoa
1/2 cup water
1 tsp fat (I used coconut oil)
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 pound ground turkey
1 Tbs tomato paste
1 tsp hot sauce, like Cholula
1 Tbs molasses
1 Tbs white wine vinegar
1 egg
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 packet (1 gram) stevia powder
Topping:
3 Tbs tomato paste
1 tsp molasses
1 tsp white wine vinegar

Instructions:
Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan over high heat. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, about 15 minutes. Set aside. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees. Heat the fat in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in the onion; cook and stir until the onion has softened and turned translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another minute; remove from heat. Stir the turkey, cooked quinoa, onions, tomato paste, hot sauce, molasses, vinegar, egg, salt, paprika and pepper in a large bowl until well combined. The mixture will be VERY moist. Shape into a loaf on a foil lined baking sheet. Combine the topping ingredients (more tomato paste, molasses, vinegar) in a small bowl. Rub the paste over the top of the meatloaf. Bake in the preheated oven until no longer pink in the center, about 55 minutes. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 160 degrees F. Let the meatloaf cool for a couple minutes before slicing and serving.

2 thoughts on “Turkey & Quinoa Meatloaf

  1. I love that your mom rode her bike next to you!!! It’s always nice to have someone to talk to (read: gasp words between panting). I just bought some quinoa the other day, and wasn’t quite sure how to use it. Will definitely be trying this recipe. The boys will love it too!

  2. Pingback: Turkey & Quinoa Meatloaf | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

