Better Breakfast – Soaked Oatmeal

I don’t have a goal weight. I have a goal strength, a goal health, and a goal outlook.  When I was trying to lose weight in the past, I had to be careful not to consume too much. Now that I’m running and lifting and being all sorts of proud of myself, I have to be careful to make sure I’m eating enough to fuel my workouts and boost my metabolism. A few nights in the past week, I’ve woken around 3 in the morning absolutely famished. M says this is because I’ve built up some muscle that is working even while I’m sleeping and that I need to eat more often. I like the sound of that very much.

I have been eating an egg or an egg with some meat each morning. The protein is awesome and free range, happy chicken eggs are quite near being the perfect food. But it seems that I need more and more often. Usually, I should probably just eat another egg. But I’m working on this sweet-tooth, carb-craving problem and what I really want is cereal. Boxed cereal is not food. It’s a food-like-product and is no way to start your day. I do believe that the less grains we eat, the better, as long as we are replacing that food with vegetables, fruit,  meat, eggs, and good fats. But I’m not grain free and I’m trying to reduce my consumption in a gentle way.

Traditional cultures where grains were consumed regularly or in large amounts found ways to reduce the harmful components of grains through methods like soaking, sprouting and fermenting. These methods are designed to do what our body can’t and break down the anti-nutrients (gluten, lectin, phytic acid, etc) in grains so that they are more digestible to humans. Evidence shows that these methods do indeed make the nutrients in grains much more bioavailable and reduce the anti-nutrient properties. (Wellness Mama)

So my compromise at this point, in an effort to eat more and make better choices, is oatmeal! The traditional oats have made an appearance on this blog before, no doubt. But this is an improvement. Give the simple recipe a shot, make sure to eat it with a protein to help prevent a blood sugar spike and to slow down the rate the carbs are broken down, reducing the chance for them to be stored as fat. Besides, protein will satiate you best, so the carbs should always be second fiddle if they’re playing at all.

This recipe is basic and is supposed to make two servings. I had no trouble eating the whole thing, along with my egg, so I’m calling it one serious serving. I had maple syrup out and had intended to use it, but I was smart for a second enough to taste before adding it. I was so pleasantly surprised – this needs no sweetener. It has a mild tang from the fermentation and the coconut and cinnamon were just lovely and sweet tasting enough. Topping it with a bit of plain Greek yogurt made it even creamier and gives another protein boost. Hours later and I’m still quite full. I’m afraid it’s going to make me run a little longer today, too.

Soaked Oatmeal
Adapted from Nourishing Traditions

Ingredients:
1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal (not quick cooking)
1 cup water, divided
2 Tbs buttermilk, sour milk, kefir, or plain yogurt
Optional:
2 Tbs shredded, unsweetened coconut
1/8 tsp cinnamon
3 Tbs plain Greek yogurt

Instructions:
Combine the oatmeal, 1/2 cup water, and sour milk in a bowl or jar. Stir, cover, and let sit on the counter overnight, preferably at least 12 hours. In the morning, pour the contents of the jar directly into a small pot and add 1/2 cup water. Bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce heat to low and cook for 5 minutes, stirring often until thickened. Add coconut and cinnamon, if using, and stir well. Spoon into a bowl, top with yogurt if you’d like, and serve.

Leave a Reply

