Peach Cherry Crisp

Day 6 of no added sugar or artificial sweeteners. Holy mother, what a beast. I’m in the thick of the detox and not feeling super wonderful about it yet. The best advice I know to conquering what you battle is to “not feed the dragon”. This means that while giving up sugar, my body won’t make progress and break the psychological habit if I just replace this sugar with that sugar. This is why I have to quit honey and stevia too. Only fruit is in. But even that can be a crutch … and for now, it’s one I’m going to lean on. So I’m bending my own rules. I’m replacing sugar with fruit, which my mind still reads as sugar. While it’s not ideal, I’m not off the wagon.

Let’s just ignore the fact that for my dad’s b-day party yesterday, I made this …

and this …

I didn’t even lick the fudge frosting gooing over my finger as I frosted. Not a crumb touched my lips, but it was a battle of will. One I hope I won’t even have to think about in a few weeks.

Sugar is strong stuff. I wish I would just up my kombucha and sauerkraut until the cravings are gone, but instead I made this mind-blowing, way more than satisfying, sweet summer peach cherry crisp. For my first week, I am accepting the sugar crutch in fruit form and hoping to cut back as my body gets more fat-adapted at burning my stores for fuel instead of simple carbs and the sugar.

Side note, I ran 3 miles today and felt incredible. It was great to pop on the treadmill and be done with my workout in 30 minutes. I feel strong and healthy, despite the sugar sadness.

I made this crisp with Kerrygold butter from grass-fed cows, but you could make the recipe paleo by using coconut oil instead.

Peach Cherry Crisp

Ingredients:
2 cups peaches (about 2 small), diced into 1/2″ pieces
1 1/2 cups cherries, pitted and halved
1 Tbs quick-cooking Tapioca
Juice of one lime (about 2 Tbs)
1/2 cup pecans (almonds or macadamia nuts would also be yummy)
1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
2 dates, pitted
1/4 cup butter or coconut oil
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1 Tbs coconut flour

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Use a bit of butter or coconut oil to grease an 8″x8″ pan. In a medium sized bowl, mix together the peaches, cherries, tapioca, and lime juice. Pour the fruit into the prepared pan. In a food processor, mix the remaining ingredients and pulse until it’s an even, crumbly mixture. Sprinkle the topping on the fruit and distribute evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes until the fruit is bubbly and the topping is browned. Serve as is or top with a bit of yogurt or coconut milk.

One thought on “Peach Cherry Crisp

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up my no-sugar-added month with Buttermilk Blackberry Muffins | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

