Banana Coconut Bread (Gluten Free, Nut Free, Refined Sugar Free)

I finished reading It Starts With Food today and am thrilled with the impact it’s had on my choices thus far. I’m considering doing the Whole30 in September since I have done so well without grain and cutting off the Sugar Dragon.

I ran 8 miles on Saturday and though I ate a massive breakfast an hour before my run, by the time I was done, I was hungry and my body was begging for some carbs to make up for the 1 1/2 hr+ stroller haul. I had a banana and some sweet potato and chicken, but let’s be honest … I wanted bread. So, I did the best I could with the ingredients I’m ok with for this sugar free month. The Hartwigs, who wrote It Starts With Food, don’t encourage this “forcing your old food into a new paleo mold” and liken it to sex with your pants on. But I’m not so hard core and I only had a couple pieces before pawning it off on a hungry mister.

Most of the grain free breads I found have tons of nut flour in them. I have to be careful with nuts because one handful turns into a handful an hour and I feel gross. Eating a nut packed bread would have been pretty high fat and that can slow down digestion, which isn’t ideal when you’re trying to get in as much nutrition as possible in that window after a workout. Coconut flour breads tend to be a little spongy, so I toasted my slices and the texture was lovely. It’s been nearly three weeks without bread, so maybe I’m easy to please. If I had to run 8 miles every week for my missed baked treats, I would. I have another 10 miler coming up this Saturday, so maybe I’ll plan ahead with something similar. The ratios seem to be solid, so try changing the spices or adding some berries. Oh, the possibilities!

Banana Coconut Bread (Gluten Free, Nut Free, Refined Sugar Free)
Adapted from Livestrong

Ingredients:
1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
4 eggs
1/2 cup applesauce
4 dates, pitted, soaked in hot water, and drained
1/4 cup coconut oil or butter, melted
1/2 tsp coconut extract
1/2 cup banana (1 medium), mashed
2 Tbs unsweetened shredded coconut (optional)

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine coconut flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. In a food processor or blender, add the eggs, applesauce, dates, coconut oil, coconut extract, and mashed banana. Blend until smooth. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and fold until combined. You’ll need to stir a bit more than you would with regular wheat flour because the small amount of coconut flour needs to absorb all the liquid. Oil a 9″x5″ loaf pan and line with a sling of parchment. Oil the parchment lightly. Pour in the batter and sprinkle the shredded coconut on top. Bake for 55-65 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely. Toast slices, butter if you like, and eat with pleasure.

2 thoughts on “Banana Coconut Bread (Gluten Free, Nut Free, Refined Sugar Free)

  1. Pingback: Paleo Banana Bread | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

