Pumpkin Custard (No sugar added!)

Ever want pumpkin pie in the summer, but don’t want the oven on? Ever think about eating pumpkin pie filling straight from a bowl? Ever wish you could have a good for you comfort food? Me too! This is the recipe we’ve been looking for.

It may be improper to call this a custard, because I used getalin to help set it instead of egg yolks.  But, there are eggs included and it tastes like a custard, so I’m keeping the title.

I’ve been making an effort to eat more starchy vegetables the night before and the meal after my longer runs. These include sweet potatoes, beets, and hearty squash (as opposed to summer squash – again with the names).

Giving up added and artificial sweeteners for this month (on day 23!) has been no joke. I really don’t have the strong cravings I had for that cranky first week, but I do still like including sweet things to my diet. Fruit is nearly enough, but the combination of sweet and starch, like pumpkin, feels like something I’ve been missing. Just a couple spoons after dinner and a nice cup with lunch after a morning run helps me restore my glycogen stores and fuel my next workout. Not to get all science-y.

Most importantly, this custard doesn’t have any sweetener to it. Plain, pureed pumpkin has 22 grams of sugar in a cup. That’s quite sweet. It may not taste especially sweet if you’re still used to super-normal, hyper-stimulating flavors. But I encourage you to try it as is. I love it so much and am thrilled that the whole food is enough.

I drink and use raw milk from a local grade A dairy that treats their cows kindly. Personally, I handle raw dairy well and will use it instead of canned coconut milk when I can. If you want to make the recipe paleo though, feel free to substitute full-fat coconut milk for the cow’s milk.

This is definitely making it to the Thanksgiving table!

Pumpkin Custard
Adapted from Health-Bent

Ingredients:
28 oz. can pureed pumpkin
28 oz. whole milk
2 eggs
1 Tbs ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/8 tsp salt
1 Tbs vanilla extract
2 Tbs unflavored gelatin powder (2 envelopes)
1/2 cup warm water

Instructions:
In a medium sized pot, whisk together the pumpkin, milk, eggs, and cinnamon. This could take a bit, so be sure to keep stirring occasionally. Right when it’s about to come to a simmer, remove it from the heat. Because I included eggs, I heated it to 160 degrees, just when it started to bubble. While the pumpkin mixture is heating up… In a small bowl, sprinkle the gelatin over luke warm water and stir to combine, making sure there are no lumps. Stir in the vanilla extract and let the mixture firm up. Whisk the semi-solid gelatin mass into the pumpkin mixture. Pour the pumpkin custard into ramekins, glasses, or any dish you’d like. The smaller the dish is, the faster the custard will be ready to eat. Press a small square of plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the pumpkin custard to prevent it from forming a ‘pudding skin’. Refrigerate to allow the custard to set-up properly. You should be able to serve and eat in around 4-6 hours. Top with a sprinkle of cinnamon and a dollop of plain yogurt if you like!

One thought on “Pumpkin Custard (No sugar added!)

  1. mmhh…this is sound so lovely! I bet will be also delicious made with nut milk or coconut milk and no eggs as a vegan option!
    your blog is so clever!

    (ariadibattersea.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

