Wrapping up my no-sugar-added month with Buttermilk Blackberry Muffins

I finished my month without added sugar and reintroduced a bit with these special muffins. Blackberries are gorgeous and ripe right now and their sharp sweetness goes so well with the buttermilk and cinnamon in this recipe. I sat down at the dining table alone with my muffin and was very pleased with both the delightful little treat and my month without the like.

The last couple weeks have been pretty easy without adding any sugar or sugar substitutes, quite unlike the dreadful first few days. I’m glad I’ve put the sweets back in their celebratory (as opposed to everyday) place and I’m definitely glad I took a month to eat a lot better. I’m eating a ton of vegetables, protein, and good fats and it’s fueled my distance running and CrossFit classes in a way I couldn’t adequately with too many carbs. While keeping myself mostly fat-adapted, I’d like to start to include some whole grains occasionally too, because as much as my body loves a protein + veg diet is, I’m still quite agrarian and want to strike a balance.

So, muffins are back and in my tummy. Not too sweet and not over the top, they demand a cup of tea and a quiet quarter hour. Though that could be the result of appreciating a love in a better way after an absence. The best way I can describe them is involved. Can there be a philosphical muffin? These are delicate joys and need your undivided attention. Hop to!

Buttermilk Blackberry Muffins
Adapted from Joy of Baking

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
2 Tbs honey
1 egg
3/4 cup buttermilk
2/3 cup butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups fresh blackberries

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter 16 muffin cups with paper liners or use paper liners. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together the egg, honey, sugar, buttermilk, melted butter, and vanilla. In another large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Stir with a rubber spatula, just until the ingredients are combined. Chop the blackberries a bit and gently fold them into the batter. Don’t over-mix your poor muffins! Scoop the batter into each muffin cup until almost full. Place in the oven and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 18 – 20 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool for about 5 – 10 minutes before removing from pan.

Leave a Reply

