Farm Stand Shopping and a Birthday Dinner

Purdum’s Produce is a local farm stand selling an abundance of fruits and vegetables grown nearby. They are open mid July through October. Having the convenience and selection of fresh produce makes cooking, and eating, especially wonderful during these months and my diet suffers their absence the rest of the year.

My birthday was this last Thursday and I decided to make a meal that would be memorable, very me, and take advantage of the harvest season. Aurelia and I went to Purdum’s and bought whatever called out to us. Much of it made it into the salad smorgasbord dinner that was exactly the meal I wanted, what I could eat all the time, the sort of food I crave. Best of all, it was inexpensive, local, healthy, primal, and farmer friendly.

This farm stand is a mere mile from where my house is being built. I love living in such a rural area that still has these old fashioned (and new fashioned) resources that make this such a rich place to cook, eat, and feed a family.

Just for reference and to brag about the low cost of Idaho living, I’ll share that I spent $14 on this trip to the farm stand and bought the following:

  • 4 poblano peppers
  • 2 sunflowers
  • 8 onions
  • 1 habanero pepper
  • 2 sweet jalapeno peppers
  • 5 peaches
  • 4 plums
  • 3 green bell peppers
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 head broccoli

To make dinner, I cooked each ingredient separately and let everyone build their own salads, tacos, or burritos. I had the best salad of red leaf lettuce, spiced ground beef, sauteed zucchini and sweet jalapeno, caramelized onions, roasted bell peppers, garlicy guacamole, cotija cheese, fresh tomatoes and cilantro.

Not a bad way to turn thirty!

3 thoughts on “Farm Stand Shopping and a Birthday Dinner

  1. I love Purdums. Their peppers are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. There are two of those green giants in my fridge waiting to be stuffed 🙂

Leave a Reply

