Recipe Revisited: Sweet Potato Craisin Muffins

Thanks to Aurelia for the pretty orange rose! She was a big help making these muffins and everything else in the kitchen today.

I make so many muffins, I’m remaking and reblogging recipes I’ve done before. These Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins I made in June are heavenly and one of my favorite recipes on this blog. The sweet potato and raisins allow for only a little sugar to be added and the ground almonds allow for only a cup of flour. The yogurt allows for only a bit of butter, (not that I frown at butter, ever). So while they aren’t gluten and sugar free, they’re closer than most. Plus they’re complex and satisfying in a memorable way and I’ve found myself craving these for months.

Because it’s feeling nearly like autumn, I wanted to try this recipe again with walnuts instead of almonds and craisins instead of raisins, because I consider those more fall flavors. If you’d like to swap pumpkin for the sweet potato, that would work too.

I tried a short cut with the sweet potatoes this time by peeling them, chopping them into 1″ cubes, putting them in a glass baking pan, adding a quarter cup of water, covering with a damp paper towel, and microwaving for 10 minutes, stirring half way through. Just out of the microwave, I dumped them into the food processor and blended for about 5 minutes, adding a bit more water to get them going, until they were silky smooth. So easy! I went ahead and made two sweet potatoes worth of puree to save the rest for something else, since I was going to the work anyway.

Another change I made was to add baking powder, but it didn’t seem to lift them much more. These are still a rich, serious muffin… as much as a muffin can be anyway. Still snack worthy, I assure you.

These smell so amazing while cooking and they pair perfectly with coffee or tea. Have one for breakfast or two after school with your favorite toddler. I’m sure I’ll be thinking of these again for a while and making them winter worthy before Christmas. YumYumYum.

Sweet Potato Craisin Muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup pureed sweet potato (about one sweet potato, roasted, peeled, and mashed well)
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup finely ground walnuts
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 cup butter, melted
3 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup craisins (I used cherry juice infused ones, but no matter)
1 cup plain yogurt

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350 and put 18 liners into muffin pans. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, ground almonds, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and spices. In a separate bowl, mix the butter, eggs, vanilla, brown sugar, yogurt, and pureed sweet potato, just until all ingredients are moistened. Fold in craisins. Don’t overmix! Scoop batter evenly into prepared muffin cups. Bake muffins for 15-18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in one comes out clean.

*Instead of 18 muffin cups, I made 11 muffins and a small 3″x4″ loaf.

Leave a Reply

