Workout – Back to the Weights

I’m not posting on Dailymile right now because I’m not putting in the miles running much lately. I ran over 100 miles in September in prep for my half marathon and it felt amazing. The weather was great, I burned a gabillion calories, and my long outdoor runs on the weekend really became something I looked forward to. But … I hate running in this cold. I am trying to spend more time on other things (dating! novels! toddler dance parties!) and cutting back on the hours and hours running each week allows for some other pastimes to take priority. Last excuse is that all that running didn’t actually do a whole lot to change the shape of my body. I’m not looking to lose (much) weight, but I don’t feel shame admitting that I’d like to look better. If anything, running distance made me more flat. Flat in front, flat in back, just squared up on all sides without much more definition. I like shape and curve and muscles. So, back to the weights I go. Less time on the treadmill, focusing on one body section a day, with short, high intensity intervals to round it out. I weigh about five pounds more than I did two months ago, but I’ve got to get my sweets under control again. And we’re just about to the holiday diet slide. Shoot. I do feel stronger though and sore, in the best way.

I’m not going to keep track of every workout, but I’ll try to post good ones here and there. It’s helpful for me to see other people’s routines when we have similar goals and maybe mine will be useful to someone else. As with any workout, adjust to your needs and weight capacity. The idea is to use weight just heavy enough that you can finish the reps, but not any more. When I finished this chest/triceps routine today, it was all I could do to pick up Aurelia to get her in the car from school after. My arms were DONE, which is a great sign to me. I’ll move on to other body parts the rest of the week, so they gave their all and now get some rest. Whew.

This is adapted from Vanessa Tib. I was in and out of the gym in 45 minutes.

Workout Focus: Chest/Triceps
Pushups 2 sets of 10 reps
Flat Bench Barbell Press 2 x 10
Incline Bench Dumbell Press 2 x 10
Flat Bench Dumbbell Press 2 x 10
Flat Bench Dumbbell Flyes 2 x 10
Cable Crossover 3 x 8
Parallel Bar Dips 2 x 10
Close Grip Barbell Bench Press 2 x 8
Lying Close Grip Barbell Triceps Extension Behind The Head 3 x 8
Triceps Pushdowns 4 x 10
Dumbbell Overhead Triceps Extension 2 x 15

HIITIntervals on the treadmill: 1 minute run (speed: 7.5, incline: 0), 1 minute power walk (speed: 4.5, incline 10) repeat x 5 (10 minutes)

Leave a Reply

