Good Morning Eggs

chicken sausage, spinach, salsa, guac eggs

I’ve been eating eggs every morning for months now and it’s the best food change I’ve made in a long time. It’s had a big impact on getting my metabolism going (I eat within an hour of waking up), keeps me full until lunch, and because it’s good fats, veg, and a shot of protein, I don’t start the day with a sugar rush or crave sugar earlier in the day like I do when I eat cereal or toast or other naughty things. I keep a jar of chopped onion in the fridge that’s easy to pull out and use. Also, those amazing Aidelle’s chicken sausages can be cut up and stored ahead of time. If I have meat leftover from dinner the night before I’ll often use that. The roast I used for a few mornings was from a lovely chuck roast I cooked simply in the slow cooker all day in a quart of leftover French Onion Soup. Talk about letting your meals feed each other. That was amazing.

These pictures are from my phone via Instagram (@sarahpoepoetry) and the quality is worse than my usual poor photography because it’s first thing in the morning and I just want to eat the darn eggs and not stand around taking pictures when I should be getting ready for the day. These Good Morning Eggs are quick and doable for weekdays, I promise. They can be made many different ways as you can see below, but the basic recipe is the same.

I ran my recipe from this morning (eggs + chicken + broccoli + feta) through FitDay to give you an idea of the nutritional profile. Most days I eat spinach instead of broccoli and most days I use those brilliant Wholly Guacamole single serve 100 cal packs instead of feta. But it’s not going to vary nutritionally much more than that.

chicken, broccoli, feta eggs

Not a bad way to start the day! Have other flavor combinations or suggestions? I’d love to hear! And really, if you’re not eating well (or at all) in the mornings, give these veggie eggs a try each day in different ways and see how you feel after a week or so. I think you’ll be happy, too.

beef roast, spinach, sauerkraut eggs

Good Morning Eggs

Ingredients:
1 egg
1/3 cup egg whites (about 2 egg whites)
1 tsp coconut oil
2 Tbs onion, chopped
1/4 cup precooked meat, chopped
1/2-1 cup spinach (or other green veg, like broccoli)
2 Tbs other – salsa, sauerkraut, capers, pesto, water
guacamole or feta for topping

Instructions:
In a nonstick skillet over medium heat, melt the coconut oil and add the onion and meat. Cook for a couple minutes until the onion is softened. In a little bowl, whisk together the egg and egg whites. Add the eggs to the skillet and stir quickly with a wooden spoon to break up the egg and mix well. Let cook, stirring occasionally, for a minute or two, until the eggs are just barely set. Add in the spinach and “other” ingredient. The “other” being something with liquid in it to help the spinach cook down. Stir well until the spinach is wilted and everything is combined. Remove from heat, pour into a bowl, and top with salt, pepper, guacamole, and/or feta. Nom nom.

salmon, pesto, caper eggs

One thought on “Good Morning Eggs

Leave a Reply

