Costco Shopping

I’m headed to Costco tomorrow and am sharing my go-to list with you. Now that the local farmers market is closed (wail) and the local farm offerings in the small groceries are limited to potatoes, onions, and apples for only a bit longer, I’m back to relying on Costco. I like Costco. It’s big box and all that, but it’s not Walmart and they increasingly seem to be meeting the health demands of their picky customers, me included. My mom and I canned applesauce and tomato sauce this summer, so those are covered. Free range local eggs are available year round, thank goodness. I only shop at the health food co-op for Bubbies sauerkraut and pickles, kombucha, aged balsamic, raw cider vinegar, vitamins, probiotics, and noodle-y soups for Aurelia. So through the winter and spring, Costco gets the bulk of my shopping and I can keep my grocery budget well within reason without making too many unhealthy compromises to our diet.

A few staples on my Costco list:

  • organic ground beef (not now that we bought a share of a cow, but this has been essential till now)
  • organic boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • plain greek yogurt
  • plain cottage cheese
  • butter
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • extra virgin coconut oil (new and awesome)
  • romaine hearts
  • organic fresh spinach
  • organic spring mix
  • egg whites
  • wholly guacamole single serve guacamole packs
  • refrigerated salsa (there’s only one without sugar in my store)
  • fresh sweet potatoes
  • fresh broccoli
  • aidells chicken apple sausages
  • salmon patties (not optimal, but so easy. 170cal, 9fat, 20protein)
  • dijon mustard
  • balsamic vinegar
  • capers
  • sea salt
  • blueberries
  • frozen tilapia and salmon filets
  • frozen peas
  • canned wild salmon
  • coffee
  • kalamata olives
  • jalapeno and garlic stuffed green olives

occasionally:

  • almonds, walnuts, pecans, macadamia nuts, cashews
  • feta cheese
  • rotisserie chicken (not optimal, but great in a pinch, just remove the skin)
  • almond butter
  • kerrygold cheese
  • mushrooms
  • lamb
  • roasted turkey deli slices
  • artichoke hearts

Tell me what’s on your Costco list!

One thought on “Costco Shopping

Leave a Reply

