Workout – Legs

While getting definition in my arms is gratifying and I can haul around a 32 pound toddler up stairs and across parking lots in the crook of either arm pretty easily these days, it’s my leg workouts that make me feel STRONG. It’s the day in the gym where I lose decorum, grunting my way through sets and pushing myself to squat and pull and bend heavier weight each time. For this workout with the four sets on most of the exercises, I do an easy set without (much) added weight to warm up. Then I add enough weight that I can just finish 10. Then I bump up the weight for the last two sets to try to lift as heavy as I can for 5 reps. It’s helping me break out of the weight limits I’ve been getting used to. If you can do 10 reps without sacrificing your form and finish each fully, I think it’s time to add more weight. I think the high reps of low weight BS most women hear does very little for our body composition. No one is getting pumped up and buff with testosterone here. Lift heavy. Also, I’ve noticed I eat so much more after a leg workout. I know it’s the day of the week my metabolism spikes and I demand the most power from myself. Good stuff.

Workout Focus: Legs
10 mins on the spinning bike at a steady pace
Leg Extensions 2 x 10, 2 x 5
Barbell Squats 2 x 10, 2 x 5
Hack Squats 3 x 10
Lying Leg Press 2 x 10, 2 x 5
Calve Press On The Leg Press Machine 2 x 30
Smith Machine Lunges 4 x 10
Lying Leg Curls 2 x 10, 2 x 5
Seated Leg Curls 2 x 10, 2 x 5
Stiff Legged Barbell Deadlifts 2 x 10, 2 x 5

Leave a Reply

