Homemade Raw Milk Yogurt

IMG_0321

This may be a very simple recipe, but it took me a long time to get it right. The results have been beyond wonderful. I eat a lot of yogurt and the difference between conventional store bought (even plain, greek) yogurt and this homemade kind is night and day. I like the taste of both very much, but the homemade version has all the nutrients in raw milk preserved and is cultured for a much longer time, ensuring more probiotic strains. The gelatin gives it the perfect consistency, which is usually the drawback of raw milk yogurt, that it is more like a thin kefir than a spoon-able yogurt. The gelatin has gut healing properties, along with being an added source of protein. Word of caution though, more gelatin does not make better yogurt, it just makes milk jello. Not good.

IMG_0317

If you don’t have a nifty yogurt maker like this one, try making your yogurt in a slow cooker or in a warm oven. I haven’t tried, but just a quick Google search turned up lots of glowing reviews of different methods.

So now that we have all the reasons why you should eat the purest, healthiest, homemade raw milk yogurt presented, I’m going to admit that my bedtime snack has been the indulgence of 6 ounces of this lovely yogurt mixed with half a scoop of Isopure banana creme. Reminds me of Banilla yogurt, a long time favorite, but better. More like pudding. Heaven pudding.

IMG_0312

Homemade Raw Milk Yogurt
Adapted from Nourished Kitchen and Kitchen Stewardship

Ingredients:
1 quart raw milk
1 packet yogurt starter
1 Tbs unflavored gelatin

IMG_0316

Instructions:
Pour the milk into a saucepan and heat until it reaches 100 degrees on a thermometer or just test it with your finger and remove when it reaches blood temperature.

Whisk in the starter and gelatin. Whisk, whisk, whisk until the gelatin is dissolved.

Pour into the yogurt maker jars, cover with lid, and turn the yogurt maker on for 12 hours. Once it’s done, put lids on the jars and refrigerate. Eat once cold.

IMG_0319

Simple, right!?

6 thoughts on “Homemade Raw Milk Yogurt

  1. I’ve made yogurt a few times now with raw milk. The recipe I made is different (4 C milk, 1/2 C powdered milk, 1/2 C plain yogurt or packet of yogurt starter), and it comes out fine, but different than when I used store bought milk. Store bought milk would make a creamy, smooth yogurt. Raw milk, even without added gelatin, makes yogurt that is more like jello. This yogurt wants to stick together. Only at the bottom of my jars do I get anything like creamy, store bought yogurt. My recipe also only calls for 8 hour cook time. Do I need to cook longer or is this just what you get with raw milk?

  2. Hi! I have the same yogurt maker and tried making yogurt with gelatin. The consistency of the plain yogurt turned out great, but trying to mix in some vanilla and stevia?? Not so great. In the words of my 6-year-old, it was “little clumps with slimy in between” Lol! When you mix in your banana powder, does it mix in nicely? Or is it a weird mess? Thanks!

  3. Hi,
    I’m using this method to make raw milk yogurt, but with some variations.

    Because using packets of starter culture for each batch of yogurt can be expensive, I like to use a couple of tablespoons of a previous batch to culture the next batch. However, when using raw milk, after a few recultures, the milk bacteria soon overcomes the yogurt bacteria and you end up with clabbered milk rather than yogurt.

    To solve this problem, I make the first batch from raw milk heated to 170F – to kill the natural bacteria – before allowing it to cool to 100F, when the starter culture is added – but no gelatin. After this ‘pasteurised’ batch is ready, I pour it into ice cube moulds, each cube being 2 tablespoons in volume, and freeze it.

    When I’m ready to make my batch of raw yogurt, I take one cube of this pasteurised yogurt from the freezer, add it to a quart of raw milk, heat it to 100F before whisking in a tablespoon of gelatin, all as your recipe, but this way I can obtain up to 30 quarts of yogurt from just one sachet of starter culture.

    However, things don’t go quite as smoothly as you suggest. The very creamy Jersey milk is not even one day old and is kept very cold before I use it. I use ThermoMix (a blender/cooker with a thermostatically controlled heat source) to heat the milk and frozen cube of pasteurised yogurt up to 100F before blending in the gelatin. I pour this into a mason jar, lightly screw on the lid and place the jar in a water oven set very precisely at 105f for about 6 hours.

    But, long before the yogurt is ready, it separates into milk with cream on top and I have to whisk the mixture to recombine them – up to four times until the yogurt is fully set in the fridge. As this is not mentioned in your article, I’m wondering what, if anything, I’m doing wrong.

Leave a Reply

