Paleo Banana Bread

IMG_0346

I try not to label my recipes “paleo,” “primal,” “clean,” “vegetarian,” etc. because I’m an omnivore and while I know I feel and look better when I limit my grain and sugar intake, I don’t ascribe to a strict eating plan normally and start feeling too obsessive if I have to follow a rigid diet with lots of rules. Paleo has lots of rules, none that I vehemently disagree with, but it’s not good for my mind to scrutinize at that level. You know I believe in trying to eat mostly whole, unprocessed, home cooked, farmer grown and raised, vegetable/meat/fat based meals, and that’s enough labels for me.

I had to add that disclaimer because this recipe is titled Paleo Banana Bread, but really, I just had to distinguish it somehow from the Banana Cake, Banana Bran Muffins, Banana Apricot Bread, My Best Banana Bread, Banana Coconut Bread, and the Sweet, Smooth, and Simple Banana Bread already in the recipe index.  It seems I like my banana bread. If I had to pick between the list above, I’d say the Best Banana Bread and the Sweet, Smooth, Simple ones are my favorites, but both of those are wheat and sugar based and set my sweet tooth on a bender. This recipe actually is right up there with those favorites, but it doesn’t have the triggers I try to avoid. Win!

Who knew that the trick to paleo baking was in the almond butter?! Genius. The result is so satisfying and really, not that unhealthy if you’re looking for a treat. Sold yet? Get baking.

IMG_0341

Paleo Banana Bread
Adapted from Civilized Caveman

Ingredients:
4 ripe bananas
4 eggs
1/2 cup almond butter
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 Tbs cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine bananas, eggs, almond butter, and coconut butter in a food processor and mix well. Once all of your ingredients are blended, add in the coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla, and salt. Pulse a few times to mix well.

Line 12 muffin tins or oil one 9×5 glass loaf pan and line with a parchment sling for easy removal. (I made 10 muffin tins and 2 tiny loaf pans.) Pour in your batter and spread it evenly if needed. Place pans in the preheated oven and bake for 16-20 minutes for muffins or 55-60 minutes for a large loaf. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from oven, let cool in pans for 10 minutes, then flip bread out from pans onto cooling racks to cool a bit before serving.

IMG_0344

One thought on “Paleo Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip and Raspberry Walnut Gluten Free Zucchini Bread | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

