Weekly 5 Day Split Workout Routine

My BF and I joke that we’re on opposite ends of our exercise routines, so we turn to each other for encouragement for what the other does more. She runs marathons and I lift heavy things. What’s awesome is that we’re both healthy, have had kids and got our bodies back, and do what we love because it makes us feel good. She got me to run this last summer and finish my first half marathon and I’m already stoked to train for a 30K (18.6 miles) this next September. Though, I’m not a great runner and I really don’t love doing much cardio regularly. You’ll see the cardio portion of my workouts ranges from 10-30 minutes, tops. It works for me, but I know I’ll have to get outside and put in the hours this summer if I want to reach that mileage again.

As for my gorgeous BF, she asked for “a strength workout that won’t kill me.” I decided it is a great opportunity to share the full routine I built after reading the excellent Bigger Leaner Stronger. It’s geared towards men and the bulking/cutting diet info doesn’t really work for my goals, but the strength and science busting out of the book just blew my mind. So, below is my own version of a BLS 5 day split routine, trying to get the most bang out of my time as possible. As for whether it will kill you or not, that’s up to you. Stick to weights that are heavy, but that you can complete 6 reps of, and that allow you to keep good form. If you’re unsure, just take the weight down and focus on the movement and keeping your body solid, tight, controlled, and aligned. I’ve been doing this exact workout 4 days a week, often missing one day of the week without good excuse, since the beginning of the year.

Personally, I can really see a difference in my definition, though my weight hasn’t changed. If I miss leg day, I always make it up by dropping shoulders or arms. Friends don’t let friends skip leg day. It’s the single most powerful workout in the list and does more than just build quads. It’s rebuilt my bum and transformed my core, more than the crunches. I tried to use common exercise titles so you can find videos of them relatively easily on Youtube or Bodybuilding.com. I hope this helps and encourages you to walk into that weight room with your head up and the determination to do your best. Rawr.

837abdac81fa11e2a46122000a9d0dc6_7

Mondays: Chest, Abs, Cardio
Warm-up barbell bench press 3×12 (just the bar)
Rest 30 seconds between sets

Barbell bench press 3×6 (I’m at 70-75 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

Knee hip raise on parallel bars 1×20
Ball crunches 1×20
Lying abdominal pendulum 1×20
Air bike crunches 1×20

Push-ups 3×10
Rest 1 minute between sets

Knee hip raise on parallel bars 1×20
Ball crunches 1×20
Lying abdominal pendulum 1×20
Air bike crunches 1×20

Barbell incline bench press 3×6 (I use the Smith Machine and add 35 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

Knee hip raise on parallel bars 1×20
Ball crunches 1×20
Lying abdominal pendulum 1×20
Air bike crunches 1×20

Assisted chest dips 3×6 (I’m offsetting 60 lbs)
Rest 1 minutes between sets

Knee hip raise on parallel bars 1×20
Ball crunches 1×20
Lying abdominal pendulum 1×20
Air bike crunches 1×20

Treadmill Cardio:
5 minutes run at speed 6.5, incline 0
5 minutes walk at speed 3.5, incline 15
5 minutes run at speed 6.5, incline 0

Tuesdays: Back, Calves, Cardio
Stretch calves and do a few Good Mornings with a PVC pipe

Calf press on leg press 3×12 (I’m at 160 lbs added)
Rest 1 minutes between sets

Barbell deadlift 3×6 (I’m at 175 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

One arm dumbbell rows 3×6 each arm (I use a 45 lb dumbbell)
Rest 1 minutes between sets

Cable seated row 3×8 (I’m at 70 lbs)
Rest 1 minutes between sets

Close grip front lat pull down (I’m at 60 lbs)
Rest 1 minutes between sets

Treadmill Cardio:
Stand on the edges of the treadmill, off the belt. Set incline to 15, speed to 6.5.
Jump onto the moving belt and run for 30 seconds, then jump to the edges off the belt and rest for 30 seconds.
Repeat 10-15 times.

Wednesdays: Shoulders, Glutes, and Cardio
Warm-up seated dumbbell shoulder press 3×12 (I use 10 lb dumbbells)
Rest 30 seconds between sets

Seated dumbbell shoulder press 3×6 (I use 20 lb dumbbells)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Standing dumbbell lateral raise 3×6 (I use 15 lb dumbbells)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Barbell push press 3×8 (I’m at 55 lbs)
Rest 1 minute between sets

One legged cable kickback 3×12 (I’m at 30 lbs)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Barbell glute bridge 3×10 (I’m at 95 lbs)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Treadmill Cardio (preferably at a different time of day, but at the end of this workout is better than not at all)
Walk for 30 minutes at speed 3.5 at incline 15

Thursdays: Legs
Warm-up barbell full squat 3×12 (just the bar)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Barbell full squat 3×6 (I’m at 115 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

Leg press machine 3×6 (I add 150 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

Box jumps 2×10
Rest 1 minute between sets

Stiff legged barbell deadlift 3×6 (I’m at 160 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

Smith machine lunges 3×12 (I add 30 lbs)
Rest 2 minutes between sets

Fridays: Arms and Abs
Warm-up dumbbell bicep curls 3×12 (I use 10 lb dumbbells)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Dumbbell bicep curls 3×6 (I use 20 lb dumbbells)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Assisted chin-ups 3×6 (I’m offsetting 60 lbs)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Single bench dips 3×10
Rest 1 minute between sets

Tricep rope pushdowns 3×6 (The cables are a wreck at my gym – I’m at 50 lbs on one or 25 on another. No clue.)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Dumbbell standing tricep extension 3×12 (I use a 30 lb dumbbell)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Standing alternate hammer curls 3×6 (I use 30 lb dumbbells)
Rest 1 minute between sets

One arm standing dumbbell curl 3×6 (I use a 25 lb dumbbell)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Barbell close grip bench press 3×12 (I just use the bar)
Rest 1 minute between sets

Abs: Repeat circuit 3 times
Ball crunches 1×20
Lying abdominal pendulum 1×20
Air bike crunches 1×20
Lying heel touches 1×20
Plank 1 minute

2 thoughts on “Weekly 5 Day Split Workout Routine

  1. this is EXACTLY what i have been waiting for! Body by Sarah here I come! thanks a million for putting this together!

  2. Pingback: personal challenge | frenetic bliss

Leave a Reply

