Gluten/Sugar/Dairy Free Clean Eats Cake

IMG_0677

I’ve been writing down all my food in Cron-o-Meter for about a month now and while I’ve been keeping food logs on and off for ages, keeping track of macro nutrients takes food-awareness to a new level. It’s been tremendously helpful to identify when I’m hungry to see that I’m not getting enough fat or if my sweet tooth is too strong, I can see that I’ve been overeating carbs for a day or two.

I’ve been eating dark chocolate as a treat and a bit of frozen yogurt with Aurelia once a week or so, but you know me, I miss my everyday cakes. I’m far better without them, health wise, but the comfort is missing.

This is not German chocolate or plum cake or the like. I won’t try to pass it off like that. But it’s better in many ways. It’s real food, but without the gluten and sugar in traditional cakes or unusual flours found in many gluten free ones. It’s warm and starchy and satisfying. And when I have to log every bite, I can indulge without falling off course. Win!

Also, did you know that cinnamon help control blood sugar? Several studies have shown improved insulin sensitivity and blood glucose control by taking as little as ½ teaspoon of cinnamon per day. In 2009 Scandinavian researchers performed cinnamon research on 15 young, lean and non-diabetic participants. These healthy participants were randomly assigned to consume rice pudding without cinnamon, or with 1g or 3g of cinnamon respectively. It was found that the group that consumed 3g of cinnamon had significantly lower levels of insulin after the meal than the other groups, indicating that cinnamon can acutely decrease the insulin response of food consumption even in healthy persons, not just diabetics. (Brian St. Pierre, CISSN, CSCS)

I love cinnamon and the combination of the spice with the fat in the almond butter help with the digestion of the sugar in the banana, making this a dessert that won’t send you crashing soon after.

Ok, enough health reasons. It’s delicious and takes three minutes. That’s reason enough.

IMG_0675

Gluten/Sugar/Dairy Free Clean Eats Cake
Adapted from The Wannabe Chef

Ingredients:
1 small ripe banana
1 1/2 Tbs almond butter
1 egg
2 Tbs cocoa powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon

IMG_0672

Instructions:
In a microwave safe bowl, mash the banana into a smooth puree. Mix in the almond butter, egg, cocoa powder, and cinnamon until it forms an even batter. The batter will expand as it cooks in the microwave, so make sure the bowl is big enough. Microwave on high for 2 and 1/2 minutes until the center is set. Carefully remove the bowl from the microwave and enjoy hot, cold, or at room temperature.

IMG_0676

IMG_0680

Leave a Reply

