Bulletproof Coffee

IMG_0975

This is quite a trend lately among the Paleo, Ketosis, High Fat/Low Carb, Intermittent Fasting crowd. The Bulletproof Executive started the whole thing and it has continued to rise in popularity in the last two and half years. I’m not one to jump on trends too easily, but more than two years and dozens of accounts on blogs I love convinced me to give it a try. I mean, I drink coffee every morning with a generous splash of raw milk, so obviously I’m not too purist about caffeine or dairy. Butter in coffee may seem odd, but just think of it as glorified cream. I’ve tried it with just coconut oil and it’s not my favorite. The butter makes it. The combination of fats between the two bring a cup to 210 calories and 25 grams of fat. So listen, this is breakfast. It’s a form of Intermittent Fasting. I like the way one PaleoHacker commenter summed it up: “the basic theory behind it is that consuming fat only does not take you out of  the fat burning/ketogenic state, however carbs or protein would. MCT oil can  also increase ketosis, and coffee also helps.  Whether this is technically  “breaking the fast” is an irrelevant argument about terminology, not results. True, some of the fat that you are burning comes from the drink, but there aren’t THAT many calories in it, so some of that burned fat still comes from  your ass. If drinking it helps you with mental focus and keeps you from feeling  hunger during your fast then it has done its job.  That might be a worthwhile  tradeoff for a couple hundred calories of burned fat, assuming you’d burn the same amount with or without the drink.” (The Bulletproof Exec recipe uses special “upgraded” coffee and adds MCT oil. I use Starbucks coffee and use coconut oil instead of MCT.)

Honestly, I’m not that interested in fasting or getting my body into ketosis. I love the way this tastes, I believe this kind of fat is good for you, it’s truly satiating, and I love to workout after having it. My workouts are stronger, I look leaner, and it keeps me full until about 2 p.m. So, if I’m running out of time in the morning and am hungry, I’ll buzz a mug of coffee with a tablespoon of cold pressed coconut oil and a tablespoon of grass-fed butter in the blender for 10 seconds. I buzz soap and water in the blender after I’ve poured my coffee into my cup, rinse the blender, and I’ve done breakfast in about 30 seconds. Plus, it’s delicious. Just try it once and see how it goes. Every once in a while, the bandwagon is worth it.

If you’re not used to consuming 25 grams of fat at a time, start with half the fat and work up. It felt like a lot my first time drinking it, so I scaled down and worked up quickly with no problem. I don’t talk much about it, but I am managing some long term gut issues better when I take probiotics, bitters, and Betaine HCI. Sugar and grain still creates a lot of trouble for me, so having options like this, full of qualitiy fats and energy, is a lifesaver for days I’d otherwise be tempted to grab a muffin at the coffee shop. If you have digestion problems, low stomach acid and bacterial imbalance may be a cause. The Bulletproof Executive recommends taking Betaine HCI before the Bulletproof Coffee if you need help with digestion. Probiotics are helpful to nearly everyone. But that’s a topic for another time.

IMG_0973

Bulletproof Coffee
Adapted from The Bulletproof Executive

Ingredients:
16 oz fresh brewed coffee
1 Tbs grass fed UNSALTED butter
1 Tbs cold pressed unrefined coconut oil

Instructions:
Use a blender, hand blender, or magic bullet to mix all the ingredients together. Blend for 10-15 seconds, pour into a mug, and enjoy!

IMG_0977 - Copy

One thought on “Bulletproof Coffee

  1. Pingback: Summer Catch | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

